DIY American Flag Wall Hanging

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Hi, guys! Since the Fourth of July is exactly a week away, I thought this DIY wall hanging would be the perfect decoration for the upcoming holiday. Living in America, I’ve seen just about everything turned into an American flag, but I’ve never seen a yarn wall hanging! It’s not hard to make, either! 

img_7038Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Red, white and blue yarn
  • 2 wooden dowels
  • 2 starfish (or shells!)
  • scissors
  • tape
  • embroidery thread

So, the first step is the most confusing, but after that, it’s smooth sailing! I cut 12 three-foot-long pieces of red yarn and separated them into four sections. Then, I cut 21 pieces of white yarn, and separated those into three sections, seven pieces per section (because my white yarn was a lot thinner than my red yarn!). Ok, maybe our math teachers were right about using basic algebra in the real world...

img_7035

Tie those sections onto your first wooden dowel until you have a nice stripey pattern.

img_7034

Now, cut 12 pieces of blue yarn that are a lot shorter than the red and white yarn pieces.img_7033

And tie these sections onto your second wooden dowel. These should be on the left side and close together.

img_7032

Now, tape the two dowels together on both ends of the hanging. It might look cheesy at first but the tape will be hidden.

img_7031

Now to hide the tape, wrap one long piece of yarn around both sides. This way you can hang your wall hanging. Lol…

img_7030

For the finishing touch, I added starfish to my hanging by tying them to the blue yarn with embroidery floss, but the starfish could be substituted for anything, really!

img_7029

And you’re done! I thought this DIY was a cool way to add some patriotism to my room! If you try this, let me know in the comments! Thanks for reading!

XOXO, Val

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Leave a Reply

