Easy DIY Summer Wreath

img_7131

Happy Wednesday! Today, I made this super easy summer wreath with live clippings! I think this wreath is so great for summer and a great way to add greenery into your decor! It took me all of five minutes to make this little wreath, here’s how:

What you’ll need:

img_7127

  • Embroidery hoop
  • scissors
  • tape or wire
  • leaves and flowers!
  • yarn (optional)

So first, get some clippings from wherever you want. Mine are all from my backyard but bigger flowers are never a bad idea if you want to buy some!

Just make sure you have some kind of background plant, as I like to call it.Β Just something simple that won’t distract from the main plant! Then tape or wire your background plant to the hoop.

img_7128

The objective is to have the least amount of tape or wire showing. Even though it’s probably not very conventional – sorry, florists! – I used tape because I felt like it held the plants exactly where I wanted them.

Then, add your main plants! I used these little pink clippings from some kind of Myrtle tree in my yard, score!

img_7129-1

Of course I had to add more flowers!

img_7131

I kind of weaved the flower stems around each other and the background plants to minimize tape use. I did not use yarn in this because I thought it looked complete, but I was planning on using yarn to hang the hoop!

And that’s it! This super easy to make summer wreath is finished! I definitely plan on making more of these and experimenting with different plants and techniques. Let me know if you try this out!

XOXO, Val

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

4 thoughts on “Easy DIY Summer Wreath

Leave a Reply

