DIY Fringe Frames

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I’m pretty sure we can all agree that the only thing better than an easy DIY is a super easy DIY. And this one is like really super easy. It takes minutes. And it’s a perfect way to give regular ol’ frames a fresh new look! 

What you’ll need:

img_7276

  • Frames
  • yarn
  • scissors
  • Tape (possibly!)

So, I’ve had these tiny white frames for years and always thought they were cute – cute enough to keep for years apparently – but I wanted to update them. The other day I drank coffee at 9pm…. I would not recommend it, but my late night slash early morning (yikes) thinking gave me the idea of adding yarn to frames!

First, I cut 12 pieces of blue yarn that were about 14ish inches long. Does anyone actually measure every piece?img_7277

Then, I grouped the yarn into 6 sections with 2 strings in each section to create 6 knots at the bottom of the frame.

img_7278

Then, not pictured, I trimmed this fringe at angles to make it look kinda like an upside-down triangle at the bottom of the yarn!

For the second frame, I wrapped a really long piece of yarn around the top part of the frame and tied a knot to finish it off.

img_7279

Next, I cut 10 pieces of purple yarn (14 inches long again), 12 pieces of light blue yarn and 4 pieces of dark blue yarn. I made two knots per color. The different numbers might seem odd – well they’re all even actually haha – but anyway, I wanted the knots to be the same size and the yarn was all different thicknesses!

img_7280

Then I just knotted all of these to my frame!

img_7281

And, finally, I added pictures! I have a Polaroid obsession so I of course chose Polaroids but any pictures would have been fine! I did use tape to secure the pictures to the back of the frame since the yarn does cover the back of the frame.

img_7282

Pretty simple, right? Let me know if you try this out! Thanks for reading!

XOXO, Val

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Fringe Frames

Leave a Reply

